Date: Friday, July 11 @ 14:52:40 EDT
Topic: News

PICKERINGTON, Ohio -- The American Motorcyclist Association (AMA)
reports that its efforts, along with those of several other
organizations, have resulted in more than 100 U.S. House members backing
legislation that would ban health-insurance discrimination against
motorcyclists, all-terrain vehicle riders and others.

The legislators have expressed their support for HR 1749 -- The Health
Care Parity for Legal Transportation and Recreational Activities Act of
2003 -- which would bar health-care discrimination against those who
take part in legal transportation and recreational activities such as
motorcycling, ATV riding, snowmobiling, skiing or horseback riding.

U.S. Sens. Susan Collins (R-Maine) and Russ Feingold (D-Wis.) introduced
similar legislation in the Senate: S 423.

The bi-partisan measures are in response to action taken by federal
regulators that legalized health-insurance discrimination against

In 1996, Congress passed the Health Insurance Portability and
Accountability Act (HIPAA), which prohibits companies from denying
access to employer-sponsored health insurance for motorcyclists and
those who participate in other recreational activities. However, federal
regulators created a loophole that allows the denial of benefits for
injuries sustained while recreating.

"If the employer offers it, and riders pay for it, then they should get
it," said Ed Moreland, AMA vice president for government relations.

The AMA has been able to gather the support of more than 100 lawmakers
for the new legislation. But Moreland noted success can't be
accomplished alone.

"We got a lot of help on this issue, which goes to show how
motorcyclists can get things done when we band together," Moreland said.
"ABATE of Wisconsin and ABATE of Ohio were particularly helpful."

Participants in the AMA's "Introduction to Washington" seminar also
contributed to the effort, as well as members of the Mid-South MILE from
Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas, Oklahoma and Texas.

Also among those involved in the effort to end health-insurance
discrimination are the American Council of Snowmobile Associations, the
American Horse Council, the Motorcycle Riders Foundation, and the
National Ski Areas Association.

Riders and others who want to end this type of insurance discrimination
are urged to send letters to their members of Congress asking them to
support HR 1749 and S 423. An easy way to do this is to use the AMA
Rapid Response Center at www.AMADirectlink.com.

U.S. representatives who support HR 1749 are: Rep Neil Abercrombie
(D-Hawaii), Spencer Bachus (R-Ala.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Roscoe
Bartlett (R-Md.), Bob Beauprez (R-Colo.), John Boehner (R-Ohio), Mary
Bono (R-Calif.), Leonard Boswell (D-Iowa), Michael Burgess R-Texas), Ken
Calvert (R-Calif.), Dave Camp (R-Mich.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.),
Julia Carson (D-Ind.), Donna Christensen (D-Va.), Tom Cole (R-Okla.),
Jerry Costello (D-Ill.), Danny Davis (D-Ill.), Jo Ann Davis (R-Va.),
Peter Deutsch (D-Fla.), Vernon Ehlers (R-Mich.), Lane Evans (D-Ill.),
Bob Filner (D-Calif.), Harold Ford Jr. (D-Tenn.), Barney Frank
(D-Mass.), Martin Frost (D-Texas), Virgil Goode Jr. (R-Va.), Bart Gordon
(D-Tenn.), Same Graves (R-Mo.) and Mark Green (R-Wis.)

Also, Raul Grijalva (D-Ariz.), Luis Gutierrez (D-Ill.), Melissa Hart
(R-Pa.), Maurice Hinchey (D-N.Y.), Tim Holden (D-Pa.), Henry Hyde
(R-Ill.), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), Darrell Issa (R-Calif.), Sheila
Jackson-Lee, Sheila (D-Texas), William Jenkins (R-Tenn.), Timothy
Johnson (R-Ill.), Stephanie Tubbs Jones (D-Ohio), Walter Jones Jr.
(R-N.C.), Mark Kennedy (R-Minn.), Dale Kildee (D-Mich.), Ron Kind
(D-Wis.), Mark Steven Kirk (R-Ill.), Gerald Kleczka (D-Wis.), John Kline
(R-Minn.), Ray LaHood (R-Ill.), Tom Latham (R-Iowa), Barbara Lee
(D-Calif.), Ron Lewis (R-Ky.), William Lipinski (D-Ill.), Thaddeus
McCotter (R-Mich.), Jim McDermott (D-Wash.), Mike McIntyre (D-N.C.),
Michael Michaud (D-Maine), Candice Miller (R-Mich.), Alan Mollohan
(D-W.Va.), James Moran (D-Va.), John Murtha (D-Pa.) and Marilyn Musgrave

Also, Anne Northup (R-Ky.), Devin Nunes (R-Calif.), James Oberstar
(D-Minn.), David Obey (D-Wis.), Frank Pallone Jr. (D-N.J.), Donald Payne
(D-N.J.), Collin Peterson (D-Minn.), Thomas Petri (R-Wis.), Todd Russell
Platts (R-Pa.), Adam Putnam (R-Fla.), Nick Rahall (D-W.Va.), Jim Ramstad
(R-Minn.), Rick Renzi (R-Ariz.), Mike Rogers (R-Mich.), Bobby Rush
(D-Ill.), Paul Ryan (R-Wis.), Timothy Ryan (D-Ohio), Linda Sanchez
(D-Calif.), Bernard Sanders (I-Vt.), Janice Schakowsky (D-Ill.), F.
James Sensenbrenner Jr. (R-Wis.), John Shimkus (R-Ill.), Rob Simmons
(R-Conn.), Ted Strickland (D-Ohio), Bart Stupak (D-Mich.), John Sweeney
(R-N.Y.), Lee Terry (R-Neb.), Patrick Tiberi (R-Ohio), Edolphus Towns
(D-N.Y.), Mark Udall (D-Colo.), Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Greg Walden (R-Ore.)
and James Walsh (R-N.Y.)

Also, Curt Weldon (D-Pa.), Jerry Weller (R-Ill.), Robert Wexler
(D-Fla.), Ed Whitfield (R-Ky.), Joe Wilson (R-S.C.), Frank Wolf (R-Va.)
and Don Young (R-Alaska).

This article comes from Honda CBX Motorcycle World

The URL for this story is: